Why I love this song || Avenged Sevenfold — Nobody

A sonic and compositional masterpiece

Philip Marais
Finding Bohemian Rhapsody
5 min readApr 5, 2023

--

The first single from the upcoming album, Life is But a Dream from Avenged Sevenfold, the writers of the masterpieces (in my opinion), Nightmare and The Stage.

Avenged Sevenfold — Nobody || 17/20

Sonic Magic || 5/5

The opening riff is haunting, it is somewhat jarring and uncomfortable and it is down to the synth effect on the guitar playing that two-note opening. the sound caught me completely off guard the first time, and even now I don’t look forward to hearing it when I know the song is about to start again from the start. Even so, it is fitting. It evokes emotion and anticipation.

In addition to the extremely saturated guitar synth sound, the drums are crisp, and clear and the kick is massive. Matt’s vocals sit perfectly in the mix and most importantly, they create space for the vocals in the pre-chorus before launching into the chorus.

In fact, the one thing I most admire about the sonic experience is the space they leave in the interlude before the second verse. The contrast is so tasteful.

And instead of the song building up in sonic intensity, it seems as though it incrementally creates more space to allow the focus to fall on the incredible solo at the end.

I very rarely give out the 5/5 for sonic experience, and usually, it is reserved for the Metallicas and Rammsteins of the world.

This is up there for me and it was the first thing I remarked on when hearing the song for the first time.

Musicianship and technical proficiency || 5/5

The guitar solo at the end of the song, by itself, is enough to warrant a 5/5. The solo is very non-jerkoffy. It is a classic. Look, Synster Gates has written some remarkable solos over the years, and well and truly deserves to have his name listed amongst the greats. This solo is a perfect example of why he deserves the accolades he receives. It is the perfect incarnation of the guitar solo in my opinion.

Matt Shadows, in this track also delivers some of the best vocals I have heard from the Aveneged catalog. He is singing like a true rock superstar in his prime.

On the drums, perhaps let me state upfront. I am biased. Brooks Wackerman easily rates as one of my favorite drummers, and lists as one of only three drummers that have replaced founding members, which I think truly fills the shoes of their predecessors.

Brooks for The Rev
Alex Brent for Travis Smith (Trivium)
Art Cruz for Chris Adler (Lamb of God)

The simplicity of his playing, yet the intricate cymbal work. Take a bow, Brooks Wackerman.

Overall composition & Surprise || 4/5

The thing about this track that really makes it a great track, is the surprise. The journey. It does not follow any predictable compositional patterns. It is written to deliver an experience, and it does. It tells a story from start to finish, it is patient and never loses my attention. Even listening back for, what must be the 20th time, I still find the experience intensely captivating.

Vocals || 4/5

Matt Shadows has a unique voice, and it works for some, and not for others. It really works for me. His range and control are supreme and the melody choices are spectacular. He delivers power with immense finesse.

Lyrics || 5/5

Lyrics, as I have mentioned before, generally do not generally connect with me until well down the line, usually a few months or even years after my initial experience.

For me, lyrics are for the most part, prone to be a detractive experience. the quality of the writing and the nuance of the rhythmic delivery is of primary importance. If something sticks out as corny, or simply poor writing, I am immediately put off from a track.

In this instance, if analysis (something I am not particularly good at) serves, the themes of existentialism and the duality of the self and the ego. These are themes that make me curious to read an analysis of the song lyrics, it makes me curious to understand the writer’s perspectives and makes me curious about the books on his bookshelf.

Melody/Riff || 3/5

Though impervious, I am not drawn to the riff in any appreciable way. It serves the song well, but it does not make me sit upright and pay attention in the way Betrayed does, or Strength of the World does. It isn’t supposed to, in the context of the song, but let’s be honest, a good riff goes a long way to making a song memorable, in a manner that great solos and perfect drumming cannot.

Drums & Percussion || 4/5

When I heard Higher (The Stage) for the first time, is when Brooks Wackerman put his name on my all-time favorite list.

In both the broader Avenged Sevenfold context (including the Rev) and specifically The Stage, the drums on this track is on par with what the song demands. Barring the overly prescriptive simplistic drumming on Hail to the King, with its absolutely forgettable drumming, Avenged have always outperformed in this category.

Although the song does not demand intricacies and detail, and in fact, deserves true restraint, Brooks draped it ever so slightly with his signature character, which makes me all the more appreciate them choosing Brooks to ultimately replace James Sullivan.

Feel || 4/5

This song does not evoke deliberate percussive collaboration or specific danceability. It offers no confusing time signatures or polymeter hooks. It delivers a straight-up 4/4 simple stand-and-deliver groove that we have heard thousands of times before. But it feels perfect.

Emotional epicness || 5/5

This song hits every emotional and intellectual trigger that I like to experience from the music medium of true art.

About these reviews

Release Radar Reviews focuses on a few songs from my Spotify release radar, songs of my own choice, to review according to the principles discussed in this article.

--

--

Philip Marais
Finding Bohemian Rhapsody

Geneticist-turned-software-engineer. Startups, Health & Nutrition, Music and Technology.