Who We Spend Time With: a Lesson from the Pandemic

I want to spend time with the people I will miss when they’re gone.

Ryan Redmond
Finding Greatness

--

Photo by Dorien Monnens on Unsplash

At the beginning of the pandemic, circa March 2020, I was starting to bake bread like everyone else.

Not sourdough. That seemed too complicated. I stuck with the basics.

It seemed important to find a hobby that could pass the time as we all tucked ourselves away from society into our homes. My home is a small studio apartment so if you had a larger space than I, you were much more fortunate.

I also wanted to paint more, a hobby I had started a couple of years ago and had not kept up with.

However, I baked a few loaves of bread that could at best be described as “possibly edible”.

The painting? I painted nothing, but I did buy some new brushes that are collecting dust.

Those hobbies were meant to pass the time as we couldn’t see the people we wanted to. We couldn’t gather together for brunch, or go to a bar for someone’s birthday, or a large dinner where everyone struggles to figure out how to split the check.

That was how I spent my time before lockdown. Going out into the world. Spending my money the way millennials are told not to: buying avocado toast with a…

--

--

Ryan Redmond
Finding Greatness

Writing stories in between cups of coffee and glasses of wine.