Why Having the Courage to Fail is More Rewarding than Success

52 Weeks Writing Challenge (Week 2): Letters to my Daughter

Stephanie Elie
Finding My (Writing) Flow
3 min readMar 26, 2017

--

Last week I was feeling super motivated and encouraged to start writing again. I even signed up for a new challenge, something I felt I could complete. So I picked a topic that I’m passionate about and know from the inside out. My kid, MJ.

What I didn’t realize was how hard it was going to be to figure out what to say to her. Do I want to share life lessons? Words of encouragement or talk about how amazing she is even though she doesn’t realize it?

So hear I am on the eve of failing this challenge trying to muster up something to say and then it hit me…

Several hours and lots of Googling and whining about how I lost my mojo, it hit me.

MJ you are my first born and I love you more than you will ever know. You have so much potential and talent. I can’t wait for the day you finally see it in yourself.

You need to find the courage to be you. You need to understand that courage does not come from success. It’s created from failing again and again. Don’t let the fear of failure prevent you from doing anything you want to do.

I know it’s an easy thing to say and a much hard thing to do. It took me 30 years to figure that out. There are so many things I didn’t do because I didn’t have the courage to fail. I didn’t join the girls soccer team in high school. I didn’t take the fencing class in college or become online video host.

I’m telling you this because I don’t want you to go through the same struggles I did for the next 19 years. You inherited my lack of courage to fail. Here are three things you should know about our fear and how to overcome it.

Take the Leap and Volunteer First

Every time you feel overwhelmed about doing something from learning a new dance or talking in front of the class. Be the first to volunteer, don’t think about it throw your hand up there. I guarantee you everyone else is nervous. You eliminated the moments of anxiety waiting or listening to the students.

Trust Yourself

Don’t second guess your ability and talent, you are capable of more than you think. Be confident with the knowledge you gain on a regular basis and don’t be afraid to voice your opinion.

You will fail a some point in your life. Accept it. You will lose. You will embarrass yourself. You will suck at something. There is no doubt about it.

— Denzel Washington

Embrace Failure

It’s so easy to give up when something didn’t go your way. There were plenty of times in my life where I failed at getting something I wanted and/or deserved. I’m sure there will be plenty more.

If you don’t fail… you’re note even trying.

— Denzel Washington

Perfect isn’t Everything

Try new things all the time and don’t worry if the end result isn’t perfect. I remember you would struggle with trying to get an art project exactly how you imagined it in your head.

Sometimes you have to take a step back and let the paint brush take you another direction. Embrace the imperfections and something amazing will come of it.

We want you to be successful in whatever you decide to do. Don’t be afraid to fail.

--

--