Holiday Social Drinking Pressure Continues To Exist

DearJC
Finding Peace
Published in
3 min readDec 26, 2023

--

Photo by Kelsey Chance on Unsplash

I used to think peer pressure mainly applied to teenagers or young adults.

But I was wrong.

As most people celebrate the year-end holidays, I was invited to a party with about 30+ guests.

Most of them have been friends for over 10+ years, and I was there mainly due to a friend's invitation to tag along.

Everyone was having a great time with all the beautiful dishes and of course a variety of alcoholic beverages.

Since becoming sober this year, I have been very comfortable not drinking anymore during parties or social gatherings, though it did take me a while to find a non-alcoholic drink at the party.

I managed to find some sparkling water, and I started to chat with a new friend. He seemed like he was having a great time, and he asked why I wasn't drinking, so I told him that I don't drink anymore.

He looked at me in awe, learning that I had been drinking for over 20+ years and was able to become sober.

I have always enjoyed drinking but underestimated the effects on me until recent years. I told him it was purely a personal decision, and I have no issues with people drinking around me at all.

--

--