How Breathing Exercise Helped With My Anxiety

DearJC
Finding Peace
Published in
3 min readMar 7, 2024

--

Photo by Erika Fletcher on Unsplash

Recently, my son was offered an opportunity to study abroad in Germany for six months.

It’s a rare opportunity to study with the local students, experience local culture, and meet new people.

Part of it is that I will accompany him since he is still too young to go alone. I have always wanted to experience Europe, and this is something I could also benefit from.

We have always wanted to try this, and when it happened to us, we were in awe that dreams do come true. With the support from our school, this became a reality.

However, when reality sank in, a whole wave of emotions arose.

I was very anxious and scared about what to do next.

Where would we live? What about all the traveling logistics? What about my cat? As I started to break down the to-do list, things got better.

But my inner emotions were going out of control.

Sometimes, I may catch myself experiencing mild panic attacks and even start to doubt whether or not we should go.

For the past few weeks, I have been practicing self-soothing techniques.

One of the things about having mental clarity since becoming sober is that I am practicing letting my emotional brain take a back seat…

--

--