How I Survived My First Panic Attack

DearJC
Finding Peace
Published in
3 min readApr 29, 2024

--

Photo by nrd on Unsplash

It has been super busy for me for the past couple of months.

Like many of us, we all have obligations that we must attend to, which can be overwhelming and nerve-wracking.

Sometimes, we tend to forget our boundaries for responsibilities and continue to take on more than we can manage.

This would lead to emotional and physical stress and eventually spiritual stress, which greatly impacts our overall well-being.

Our intention of always wanting to support family and friends is good, but where is the ceiling?

I admit I am an overthinker. I often feel anxious about uncertainties and can be quite pessimistic sometimes.

For the past year, I have been focusing on my personal well-being, which includes learning about all the major self-help online tools, becoming sober, and having a healthy daily routine.

Just as I thought I was getting better, I had my first-ever panic attack in the middle of the night a few weeks ago.

Well, looking at it, I had all the symptoms.

Per WebMD, this is the definition of Panic Attack. I am listing a few that I have encountered below, which were very scary.

  1. A “racing” heart
  2. Feeling of sweaty

--

--