How To Let Go

DearJC
Finding Peace
Published in
3 min readApr 13, 2023

--

Photo by Chaney Zimmerman on Unsplash

Most of us were raised to be kind and honest to others, especially those with whom we have close relationships.

Often we enter relationships to learn about each other’s values, be open about who we are, and be honest about how we want things to work between the two people.

But unfortunately, other people may not always share the same values.

My story around relationships has always been very naive. How we treat others is usually reciprocal.

I tend to focus on the positive traits, and though there may be speedbumps, I am always okay to move past that.

I never learned to catch red flags or have the courage to walk away from toxic relationships since I was afraid of being alone.

It took me many years of self-reflection to realize that I didn’t love myself. Why would anyone put themselves in bad relationships, always full of doubt, uncertainties, repeated lies, and anxiety?

What is even worse is that even after I walk away, I am still in a lot of pain and can’t seem to let go despite all the past trauma. I would still care about them and think about what they are doing.

It’s like a mixture of love/hate, and the feeling always burned a hole in my heart. I couldn’t breathe or sleep. I felt very pathetic knowing that they have probably already…

--

--