Just Be Yourself, It’s Harder Than You Think

DearJC
Finding Peace
Published in
4 min readFeb 19, 2024

--

Photo by Maria Teneva on Unsplash

I enjoy watching old movies over and over again.

It brings back familiarity and comfort.

One of the movies that I enjoy watching is The Talented Mr. Ripley.

Per IMDB, it’s a movie about:

In late 1950s New York, a young underachiever named Tom Ripley is sent to Italy to retrieve Dickie Greenleaf, a rich and spoiled millionaire playboy. But when the errand fails, Ripley takes extreme measures.

I don’t want to spoil the movie for those who haven’t seen it.

Long story short, it’s about Tom impersonating Dickie, which leads to extreme consequences.

I never understood why I enjoyed watching this movie so much. Despite it being a thriller/crime movie, these types of genres have always attracted me somehow.

Over time, I find myself relating to Tom, the underachiever. I never thought I was good enough even though I have had some moderate success in my career.

One of the famous quotes from the movie from Tom Ripley was the following:
“I always thought it would be better to be a fake somebody than a real nobody.”

For the longest time, I have always wanted to be like someone else; someone who is more intelligent, better…

--

--