Nothing Matters When We Are Facing The End Of Life

DearJC
Finding Peace
Published in
2 min readOct 6, 2023

--

Photo by Ekaterina Shakharova on Unsplash

My 100-year-old Grandma is currently in home hospice care.

She was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer a few years ago, but the family decided not to proceed with chemotherapy. It would have been too much stress on her body.

She has been relatively stable until recently. Watching her lying in her bed saddens me. Even though I know she has already lived a long, fulfilling life, it makes me realize how vulnerable we are when facing death.

Just sitting next to her and holding her hand, I feel so happy for her. She is often surrounded by her children, grandchildren, and even great-grandchildren.

She is always happy, content, and smiling.

She always tells me that we should all be grateful for all the things happening to us.

Just focus on what we are supposed to be doing and let life lead us.

Everyone shares the same end destination which is death. But how we choose to live our lives really matters.

Despite growing up poor, living through war, and supporting our late grandfather, she is always full of positivity, optimism, and courage.

With the wisdom she possesses and the grace that she carries, I am grateful to be her granddaughter.

--

--