Now That I Am Sober, I Can Feel Inner Emotions

DearJC
Finding Peace
Published in
4 min readDec 13, 2023

--

Photo by Marina Vitale on Unsplash

I don’t remember myself crying much since growing up.

Of course, there were emotions along the way where I would feel hurt or angry, but I could always keep it within.

Before I became sober this year, with alcohol being my daily go-to best friend, I thought I was happy.

Whether I was feeling happy or upset, everything ended with a few drinks in the evening. It would take away the ability for me to process any emotions.

25+ years of drinking. Was I numb? Or having a lack of emotions? Maybe.

I made many poor decisions in the past, thinking that I was being clever.

Being sober now and looking back at all these experiences, I have discovered the importance of having a clear mind.

I noticed recently that I am more sentimental or can experience more emotions.

I would have teary eyes when I am feeling emotional, especially something that is very touching or when I am missing my late Grandma.

This is something I have never felt before.

Instead of holding my tears in, I would just let it out. I would have teary eyes and boogers running, but I feel so much better afterward.

--

--