One-Year Anniversary Of Becoming Sober

DearJC
Finding Peace
Published in
3 min readJul 11, 2024

--

Photo by Toni Reed on Unsplash

This month marks my one-year anniversary of sobriety.

I never thought I could ever do this, but I did!

For someone who has been drinking for over 25 years, I can say that becoming sober is one of the best decisions I have ever made.

I have spent the past year asking myself many questions.

Why am I the person I am today?

What have I learned from my past intimate relationships?

Exploring my childhood and try to understand the correlation to the person I have become.

Can I commit to a healing journey with a clear mind by becoming sober?

Can I self reflect and look forward to a brighter future?

People pleasing, self-blame, jealousy, or discontent were my regular emotions.

I never thought I was ever enough and would have very low self-esteem around others.

In the past year, with all the self-reflection and healing work I have done, I have learned to praise myself more and love myself in ways I have never done before.

I praised myself for all the excellent work and effort. I would give myself a break when things didn’t go as planned and tell myself it was okay.

--

--