Afraid Friends Will Read Your Writing? Here’s Why That’s Ridiculous

Tom Kuegler
The Mind Of A Writer
4 min readApr 12, 2021

--

Photo by Thom Holmes on Unsplash

“Tom I want to talk to you about something,” my Mom said.

‘Hmm,’ I thought. ‘She doesn’t say that unless there’s really something wrong.’

“Tom, I’m not sure if I should even be mad about this, but I saw your latest article about me and Dad on Medium, and I feel betrayed,” my Mom said.

Ouch.

My long run of creative anonymity amongst my family was over in an instant — it lasted four years.

The conversation between my Mom and I was awkward. I didn’t think she’d EVER read what I had to say about her and my Father’s political opinions. I thought it wasn’t that big of a deal, since nobody knows who my parents are anyway.

I mean, shit, I’m not fucking Ben Affleck here.

But it meant a lot to her, and I could definitely understand where she was coming from.

All she asked was that I tell her ahead of time if I’m writing about her or Dad.

“Fair enough,” I said. I apologized, and went on with my day.

Does This Sound Familiar?

If you’ve written online for years, you’ve MAYBE gone through a similar situation. I write maybe because you probably haven’t.

--

--

Tom Kuegler
The Mind Of A Writer

Travel blogger. 30 years old. Currently in Mexico. Subscribe to my Substack: https://mindofawriter.substack.com/