April is National Poetry Month in the U.S.

and I published a poetry chapbook

Margie Pearl
Findings

--

Photo by AJ on Unsplash

In some states it is Cherry Blossom time, but not where I live.

In Minnesota, April is a 6-week wrestling match between snow and rain with no clear victor. Ice that looks like the paraffin on jelly jars still covers the lakes. Seed packets remind me I live in zones 3–4 where frost is probable until May 15.

That’s why I’m glad Ramadan began on April 2nd. The biting wind is keeping me inside and contemplating. This is my dream: How can I do my part to support a community that trusts one another? If the moon keeps coming back, then so can I.

The Medium writers have created this ideal, as do many of the publications. Comments, claps, and personal stories build a legacy of generosity. It’s why I’m still here.

Two and a half years ago, I didn’t know this place existed until Ruth Hamberg told me about it. Dr Mehmet Yildiz invited me to write for his publication. I felt like I belonged somewhere. Isn’t that what trust is?

While here, I stumbled onto the Ninja Writers group and met Juneta Key and Meg Stewart who taught me how to walk with words. Marla Bishop and Zach J. Payne got me onto the dance floor. My Middle-Pause sisters' steady output helped me to develop realistic goals. Thank you, Debbie

--

--

Margie Pearl
Findings

Tell me a story! margie@margiepearl.com. Author, storyteller, poet, seamstress, knitter, gardener. Bio.link/margiepe