Eating One Meal Day — Intermittent Fasting, Veganism, and Keto

Anand Swamy
Swamyscafe
Published in
14 min readJun 6, 2020

--

Plate with a clock and a fork and knife next to it

Food was life. I was the fat kid that loved cake that 50 Cent rapped about. I was lucky because Mom and Dad both knew how to throw down in the kitchen, and I mean serious Top Chef-style, but the amateur home edition.

Growing up, I had the best of both Eastern and Western foods. Perhaps that’s too broad of an area to cover, so let me get more specific for ya.

My parents are from the Fiji Islands but have roots in India. I was born in the Bay Area. From the East, I devoured delicious aromatic spiced curries, insanely flavored veggies, and the softest, freshest roti’s imaginable.

From the West, I gorged on the American classics like corn dogs, macaroni cheese, T.V. dinners, Capri Suns, Lunchables, Fried Chicken, Pizza and Dunkaroos to name a few. Although these types of foods, are no longer part of my life today, they will always hold a nostalgic place in my high fructose corn syrupy past.

Today I wanted to share:

  1. A few stories about my past food addiction. Trust me, it’s entertaining.
  2. Veganism and why I stopped
  3. What is intermittent fasting and the effects of Keto and the Carnivore diets
  4. Why I made the dramatic shift into eating once a day and what I’ve learned

--

--

Anand Swamy
Swamyscafe

I write about personal development and self awareness.