Company goals

Todd Wolfson
Find Work
Published in
1 min readFeb 26, 2016

While I have stated that the point of this experiment is to build and launch a product, I feel like I haven’t stated my other goals.

Low employee count

From my observations/experience, most startups want to grow fast both in revenue and employee count. I have been curious whether the employee count is a necessity or out of habit.

I have seen a handful of companies that have been either solo developers or are small teams (e.g. PadMapper, Moqups) for a long time. However, their amount seems small in comparison to most companies.

In the gaming industry, there are a bunch of indie developers so I imagine there can be a similar parallel in startups.

Motivated by product

I think most companies are good about this but I want to reiterate it as an important goal. The company should be motivated by building a great product, not about revenue numbers.

For the same reason that I do open source (to solve my and other person’s problems), I want to build a product that genuinely helps people.

Multiple products

I believe with the proper tooling, it’s plausible for a small company to run/manage multiple products. I think eventually products become stable/feature complete and can be considered done.

Obviously, I could be horribly wrong about this (a lot of companies usually only run 1 product) but we shall see (hence the experiment).

--

--

Todd Wolfson
Find Work

Mathematician turned software engineer. Hacking on JS and Ruby at Standard Cyborg. Founder at Find Work. Formerly at Underdog.io, Uber, Ensighten, and Behance