First 2 weeks

Todd Wolfson
Find Work
Published in
1 min readFeb 26, 2016

This is now the second Friday of my first 2 weeks of experimenting with starting a company. I wanted to write this last week but I got horribly sick on Thursday/Friday last week =(

Overall, I feel like I’m going slower than I should but am confident in either finishing or getting very close by the end of April.

What did we complete

  • Formed an LLC in Illinois (took up majority of Tuesday Feb 16 to learn about different company types and requisites for forming one in Illinois)
  • Registered an EIN for said LLC (to mitigate risk of easy identity fraud)
  • Set up Google Apps and Trello for new company
  • Set up new laptop user
  • Performed OOUX exercise to get better mental map of all facets we need to cover (http://alistapart.com/article/object-oriented-ux)
  • Started sketching screens and converting them to mocks in Moqups
  • Determined our ideal font scale and baseline

Sidetracking

After starting back up with work on this Tuesday Feb 23, I had some UI/UX exploration in Moqups beta and discovered that there was no revision history (other tools have other flaws which leaves them out of the running).

I was previously frustrated at the application and decided to explore building my own mocking application.

Now that I have spent a few days on it, we are making progress but the application clearly won’t be done any time soon. It’s likely that I will go back to Moqups and workaround missing features.

Up next

  • Lots more sketching and lots more mocking

--

--

Todd Wolfson
Find Work

Mathematician turned software engineer. Hacking on JS and Ruby at Standard Cyborg. Founder at Find Work. Formerly at Underdog.io, Uber, Ensighten, and Behance