Meet Cynnie Jane — a local singer/songwriter in LA, who’s investing in herself. 💁‍♀️

finimize
Finimize Blog
Published in
3 min readOct 17, 2018

Cynnie Jane, an upcoming singer/songwriter, lives in Los Angeles and has recently decided to invest in her passion for music. She’s performed for big names (keep reading!), was hosted by Sofar Sounds here this past week and continues to make a name for herself. I had the opportunity to chat with Cynnie about her story and how she’s investing in herself.

Cynnie Jane performing live in L.A.

Tell us a little bit about you.

I’m 22, originally from Palm Beach, but moved to LA to study Music Business at the University of Southern California.

When did you start the journey to become an artist?

I started thinking about it during my senior year of high school and began acting upon it during my freshman year of college.

Let’s talk music style. How would you describe your vibe?

I categorize my music in the Dark Pop genre. I have a pretty low & smoky alto voice, so when paired with my lyrical content, pushes my music toward the darker end of the pop music spectrum.

Which artist has been your biggest inspiration for your career?

Amy Winehouse has been such an inspiration to me.

Tell us about the first gig you landed.

The first gig I landed was a residency at the Love Song Bar in Downtown LA. I had initially booked just one night there, but the venue asked me to do a residency after that first night. One of the biggest gigs I’ve played, however, was at Summerfest in 2017 where I helped open for Flume. That was pretty crazy and a big moment for me in my career.

How have you built yourself up as an artist since then?

I’ve been constantly writing new material, working with different producers and songwriters, booking gigs/performing live, honing in on my sound and really just embracing the process.

I also saw that you recently played at Sofar Sounds. What was that like? Was it your first time?

Performing at Sofar was such an incredible experience! It was my first time performing at a Sofar show, but not my first time attending one. I love Sofar’s whole concept; I think it’s awesome to be able to bring together an audience of avid and appreciative listeners for up-and-coming artists. Audiences don’t necessarily know what kind of artists to expect when purchasing their tickets, yet they trust that Sofar will curate a great musical experience- that’s cool. I’d love to perform at another one soon!

To get to know more about you and your day to day, what’s your morning routine and favorite song to jam to in the morning?

On the day of a show, my morning routine consists of lots of water, throat coat tea, vocal warm-ups, and a little meditation before hair and makeup. I also try to keep an uplifting playlist on throughout the day to keep the good vibes going! In terms of favorite song, this is a really tough one because I don’t have just one favorite. Hmm, if I had to pick, I guess I’d say either Superstar by Lupe Fiasco or Porcelain by Moby.

Lastly, where do you want to be in five years?

Five years from now I’d like to have released a few albums and be touring. So basically, five years from now I want my music to have positively impacted many people.

Check out more on Cynnie and her music on Instagram: @cynniejane.

**We’re giving away four free tickets to a live gig (a surprise) in London October 25th.
Want to win a spot? Follow our Instagram @finimize, like Cynnie’s image, and comment your favourite song and tag three friends! It’s as easy as that.

~Anna Drescher, Community at Finimize

--

--