Finisher Story: Running At 18

Finisher Magazine NewsDesk
Finisher Magazine
Published in
4 min readFeb 18, 2021

By Yash SharmaFebruary 11, 2021No Comments

Christopher McDougall, the author of the bestseller Born to Run, had once said, “The reason we race isn’t so much to beat each other,… but to be with each other.” Running, though an individual sport, supports and nurtures a community of highly driven individuals. Eager to channel your creative thoughts and share your fitness stories? Finisher Magazine is excited to offer a platform and help you discover the writer in you. Share your fitness and running stories with us in the form of articles and we will publish them on our website.

Our first writer for #FinisherStory is Yash Sharma. Read about his journey. Instagram — @yashsharma0412

My name is Yash Sharma and I am 18 years old. I am currently studying in 12th Standard and am going to pursue engineering in the future. I am a fitness freak and a total foodie. I love travelling and meeting new people.

I started running in 2018 when my dad used to forcefully wake me up and take me to the park along with him. At that point, I used to hate running and would not even be able to do a single kilometre. A few more weeks of this and I was beginning to show improvement and was also feeling amazing after each run. My dad then registered me for a 5K race and I ran it in 27:54 , not bad at all for a first race. From then on, there was no turning back. I fell in love with the sport and the way it made me feel.

I would say my biggest motivation and inspiration at that point was my dad, he never really gave up on me and kept pushing me to do better. I would credit him with me becoming a runner.

After my first 5K, I joined the Adidas Runners Bengaluru running club where I found my mentors and my coach, Ankita Gaur and Anil Mahobia. If not for them, I wouldn’t have improved my running. Can’t thank them enough and the entire running club for constantly motivating each other. There’s such positive vibes in the club.

READ ALSO: Finisher Story: Conquering The 100K Dream

After I joined the club, I obviously became faster and started following a training plan and a proper routine to help me give my best in every race that comes my way. I work on my strength three days a week, I do lower body workouts, upper body, core and some yoga. Mondays are usually my off days. I run about 5 days a week- that includes 1 long run (15 kms above), 1 speed workout where I do a fartlek/intervals and the other days are usually easy runs.

I don’t take extra supplements and try to get my nutrition from home cooked meals as much as possible. I eat a fruit first thing in the morning, breakfast is usually parathas with dal sabji and aloo parathas on my cheat days. On weekends, it’s idli/dosa. Lunch is usually rice and dinner is rotis with different dals and sabjis.

I have run many races till date, the majority of them being 5Ks and 10Ks. My favourite race is the TCS World 10K which happens every year. My current personal bests are:

3K — 10:06
5K — 20:21
10K- 42:38
21K- 1:45:32

Running has truly impacted me in a positive way. It’s taught me how to be calm, patient and focused. It has definitely improved my concentration and taught me to never give up, come what may.

My peers are very supportive of me and they keep telling me that I inspire them. They see me as a superhuman and aren’t able to believe that I am able to run so much.

All in all, I feel everyone should try running and see for themselves the change it brings about in your personality. And I would also like to mention how everyone should give back to the sport which has given them so much by helping out the people who are just starting out.

To send your entries, reach out to us through: Twitter: @FinisherMag, Instagram: @finishermagazine, Facebook: @finishermagazine or email: finishermagazine@gmail.com

Disclaimer: This article has not been written by Finisher Magazine editorial team.

--

--