My 10 Favourite Finnish Words (and How to Pronounce Them)

Mahmudul Islam
Finland Stories
Published in
2 min readJul 10, 2019

--

Courtesy: Pixabay

When will you learn that there isn’t a word for everything? — Nicole Krauss

So far, my Finnish language skill is limited to some words, some expressions and a couple of songs.

There are many Finnish words that I like and listing all of them is difficult. Also, I keep looking for new words all the time. If I like a word, I check its meaning and try to memorise it.

Here are 10 words in Finnish language that are my favourite. They are in no particular order. I just tried to make a list of the words that keep coming back to my mind.

1. Ohikiitävä = Short-term, Fleeting, Evanescent

I fell in love with this word after listening to the song ‘ohikiitävä’ by Juha Tapio. I am kind of addicted to this word. I try to use this word in real life whenever I can. You can listen to the song here:

--

--

Mahmudul Islam
Finland Stories

Writer, Journalist. Unabashedly Finnophile, Anglophile. Editor of Finland Stories. Open to writing/editing tasks: r2000.gp@gmail.com