To thine own self be true.

Finn Thormeier
Finn’s Essays
Published in
1 min readSep 24, 2019

I started curating a list of “Reminders to Myself” that I try to keep top of mind by regularly re-reading it.

Here’s one of them, it’s by far my favorite Shakespeare quote:

This above all: to thine own self be true
And it must follow, as the night the day
Thou canst not then be false to any man.

(Polonius delivers this in a monologue in Act 1, Scene III of “Hamlet”.)

Keeping this notebook and re-reading it helps me facilitate becoming the person I want to be.

“To thine own self be true” is one of those notes that I can’t remind myself often enough of.

You can always lie to others and get away with it (for a time).

But you can never lie to yourself and even have a hope of getting away with it.

And every time you lie to someone else, you lie to yourself.

So — “this above all: to thine own self be true”.

PS. I post all of these reminders every day to https://www.instagram.com/finns.notes/

--

--