Dog Lover

Broken? But You Said I Was Perfect!

Lesson 88: You are not a misfit, and you don’t need fixing

Ken Van Camp
Finn’s World
Published in
5 min readAug 8, 2024

--

Dog wearing a cone around its head
Keke finds her new halo a little distracting

As Keke left off in last week’s blog post in Keke’s Guide to Training Your Humans, not all naps are a welcome relief. Following is her story of an unbidden nap. If you are not a Medium member, click this link to read this story for free.

This week, Mommy and Daddy took me to the “Misfit Low Cost Spay/Neuter Clinic.” The name is wrong on so many levels I don’t know where to begin.

But my opinion wasn’t requested. Daddy drove up, waited his turn in a line of cars, and then handed me out the car window like a deposit at the bank. And I didn’t even get to take the fun ride up the vacuum tube.

Somewhere between my howls of protest, I heard him call, “Be a good girl!” Anybody who reads my blog knows how I hate those four words. It means they’re leaving me. Again.

The woman who received me had long brown hair and a scowling face like a flying monkey. She carried me down a yellow brick road and promptly dropped me in a cage to “wait my turn.”

My turn for what, exactly?

Six other dogs and three cats were already in the room, each in their own solitary confinement, vocalizing their tales of woe. A Basset…

--

--

Ken Van Camp
Finn’s World

Ken Van Camp may not be the perfect human, but he's trainable. At least that's what Keke says! Ken is the author of Keke's Guide to Training Your Human.