Why You Need A Mentor And How To Get One

Adebola Alabi
Smart Career Smart Money
4 min readApr 8, 2023

To go far and see far, you need the help of those ahead of you.

Photo by krakenimages on Unsplash

Isaac Newton said, “If I have seen further, it is by standing on the shoulders of giants.”

Wouldn’t you want to see far and give yourself some competitive advantages?

To go far and see far, you need the help of those ahead of you. You need mentors to guide you and help you navigate important choices and decisions in your life.

Who is a mentor?

A mentor is someone who is a guide, a coach, or a teacher, in different areas of life.

Mentors are extremely useful for people who want to be successful in their careers because mentees can learn from their mentors what they need to do to improve their skills and be more relevant at work.

A mentor can help you discover the skill you need to get promoted on the job. They can guide you on the best career path to take, of course, depending on your career goals.

Many years ago, one of my mentors told me that I needed to learn about sales to maximize my growth potential at work. I also did my research, and I was convinced he was right, as there are several opportunities in the sales profession. Because of that advice, I took a position as a sales engineer in my company. I have not looked back since. Before discussing this with my mentor, I had always thought I would be an engineer for the rest of my life. Today, I work as a sales leader in my company. I love what I do and couldn’t ask for more.

You can have mentors to teach you about money management — Saving, Investing, or starting a business.

You can have mentors to teach you about networking and relationship management — whether to have a great marriage or develop a strong network of people around you. Mentors can be of great use.

To find a mentor, all you need to do is to identify any area of your life where you need improvements or simply want to ensure you are doing well. Find someone who has succeeded in those areas, and reach out to them and ask if they can be your mentor. It’s that simple.

Now, if, let’s say, the person you want to learn from is not someone in your immediate contact or connection; you can still connect and learn from them. You can follow them on social media platforms. Study how they do their stuff, listen to their advice, and explore what works for you.

What to look for in a mentor?

1. They are already successful in the specific area you want to learn from them.

2. They must care about your progress.

3. They are non-judgmental

What should you give?

1. Respect their time.

2. Do the work.

If you do not have any mentors today, here are some reasons you should consider getting at least one.

Mentors hold you accountable to achieve your goals.

Let’s be candid; most people have goals, but not many of them will achieve them. Why is that? Many would give up when they encounter difficulties, and others would quit when uncertainties set in and when they are not sure of the path to follow. Having a mentor in your corner will help you stand a better chance of reaching your goals because they can share life experiences with you and provide their insights to guide you when you are confused or uncertain about the best path forward.

Mentors help you clarify your goals.

As a career coach, I’ve met many people who aren’t sure what they want. It is a little challenging to offer an opinion to someone that does not know what they want. But mentors have the experience and the temperament to help people in such situations find their path. They will ask questions, show them the different options and pathways they could take, and they can help them to see a clearer picture of what the mentee needs to do.

Mentors can help you expand your network.

I considered a new opportunity a few years ago and discussed this plan with my mentor. After our discussion, he told me I needed to connect with someone else within the organization to understand the role better. He went further and wrote an email to the lady. He copied me and told me to follow up with the lady. I did. That connection alone has opened other opportunities for me. A good mentor is like that giant that Isaac Newton referenced. They have more life experience than you, and by tapping on them, they can help you see further and go further because of their guidance.

You can transform your life and reach your full potential by leveraging the experience of mentors as you navigate your path. If you do not have a mentor today, I highly encourage you to find someone you admire who could be a role model. Connect with them and learn from them so you can grow through them.

Check out Episode #166 of The Career Evangelist Podcast to listen to the full episode on “Why you need a mentor.”

Subscribe to my Newsletter on Substack.

--

--

Adebola Alabi
Smart Career Smart Money

A Certified Financial Education Instructor. Mission is to help bring out the best in others. Thanks for reading my work. Check my website www.winnersways.com.