Get Started with AB Testing and Remote Configuration in Firebase

David Dikman
Firebase Developers
8 min readAug 28, 2021

--

Stick figure holding up a green and red flag with an A and a B written on them
Feature flags

I have been wanting to try A/B Testing since I first heard of it many years ago. It just seems such a logical thing to do, to try two things side-by-side, compare them and see which is best.

But getting started is hard. Too hard. I think the tooling and know-how haven’t been easy to find.

I have found that Firebase solves the tooling part well, and in this post, I will try to help with some know-how.

Remote Config is not just for AB testing

First, I want to advertise Firebase and Remote Config a little (note: I am not affiliated at all).

I want to show that even if your team isn’t experienced enough to do A/B testing, Remote Config can still be very valuable.

If you are working on a small project or on your own, by all means, you probably do not need this. As your system grows though and more configuration is added, this becomes an invaluable tool.

--

--

David Dikman
Firebase Developers

Full-stack developer and founder. Writing here and at https://greycastle.se. Currently open for contract work.