More on democracy and mediocrity

Fred Jame
Fred’s Smörgåsbord

--

I have once said this:

In business decisions, sometimes democracy just leads to mediocrity.

Well, I think I may have to elaborate more on that.

Democracy is not always bad from the business decision perspective; you hear from colleagues, subordinates and customers, you get a better idea of what things should be like (I didn’t mention top executives, since you have to listen to them by default).

However, democracy (again, business) doesn’t mean you should have everyone nodding before you can roll out a product, not everyone’s voice has the same weight either. The thing is not to get everyone’s opinion, but to distinguish the important ones from others and even to refuse the noise.

A “well-balanced” choice is usually a mediocre one. That’s what I meant.

--

--

Fred Jame
Fred’s Smörgåsbord

Thinker, writer, scuba diver, motorcyclist, cigar aficionado. Was Chief Editor of Macworld Chinese. http://fred.mba, reach me at fred@tuna.to .