One Day More (to submit to Fireside)

Written by Elsa S. Henry, Assistant Submissions Editor

Brian J. White
Fireside Fiction
2 min readApr 29, 2016

--

(Fireside closes to submissions at 11:59 p.m. EDT April 30. Help us publish even more stories by supporting our Patreon.)

BRIAN

One day more!
Another day to get a sub to me
Submissions can’t last an eternity
The stories that we read today
We’ll have to choose which ones will stay
One day more!

WRITER

I can’t submit until Sunday!
How can I live without submitting?

BRIAN

One Day More.

WRITER

Tomorrow my words will fly away!
I’m just so glad that we’ll be parted.

SLUSH READER

One more day to fill the pile

WRITERS

Should I write another draft?

SLUSH READER

One more day with numbers mounting

WRITERS

I was born to write for you!

SLUSH READER

What is hiding in the slush?

WRITER

And I swear it will be good!

SLUSH READER

You never know quite what you’ll find!

BRIAN

One more day until we close

WRITER

Do I sub or do I draft?

BRIAN

To the words that you’ve been writing

WRITER

Shall I join the writers pubbed?

BRIAN

As our issues begin to fill

WRITERS

Do I submit or do I wait?

BRIAN

Will you please send good stories?

SLUSH READERS

The time is now; the day is here!

DANIEL JOSÉ OLDER

ONE DAY MORE!

BRIAN

One more day ’til closed submissions
We will read stories in the slush
We’ll be ready for these authors
They will show us what they’ve got

SLUSH READERS

Watch ’em run amuck,
Catch ’em as they fall,
Never know your luck
When there’s a free for all,
Here’s a little fic
There a little spec
Most of them submitted
So we won’t miss much!

WRITERS (2 GROUPS)

[1:] One day to the end of submitting
[2:] Sending stories that I love
[1:] Every writer has their try
[2:] Every writer has their try
[1:] There’s a new story I’m submitting
[2:] There’s a new sub for the pile
All: Will you read the next Fireside?

WRITERS

My place is here; I write for you!

DANIEL JOSÉ OLDER & B

ONE DAY MORE!

WRITERS

I did not sub until today.

SLUSH READERS:

One more day with numbers mounting

WRITERS

How can I live without submitting?

BRIAN (overlapping)

We will add more Fireside writers
We will publish what they wrote
We will read their favorite stories
We will know the tales they told.

DANIEL JOSÉ OLDER (overlapping)

One day more!

WRITERS

Tomorrow is the last submissions day!

SLUSH READERS

What stories I have read

WRITERS

And yet my publishing’s just started

BRIAN (overlapping)

One more day ’til closed submissions
We will read stories in the slush
We’ll be ready for these authors

SLUSH READERS (overlapping)

Watch ’em run amok
Catch ’em as they fall
Never know your luck
When there’s an open call!

BRIAN

Tomorrow we’ll be closing up
Tomorrow is the judgement day

ALL

Tomorrow we’ll discover
What our readers at Fireside have in store!
One more dawn
One more day
One day more!

(Fireside closes to submissions at 11:59 p.m. EDT April 30. Help us publish even more stories by supporting our Patreon.)

--

--

Brian J. White
Fireside Fiction

Newspaper editor. Founder of Fireside Fiction Company.