The Whaley House: Ghosts of Old Town

Zeke James
Ember Echoes
Published in
11 min readJul 2, 2024

--

I just returned from a nice vacation to San Diego. My family and I went to all the normal San Diego tourist attractions while enjoying the beautiful sunny southern California weather.

We went to the beach, took a bay cruise, and visited some museums in Balboa Park as well as the world-class San Diego Zoo. But when I found out there was an alleged haunted location that was featured on the popular TV show Ghost Adventures and it was open to the public, I just had to go. That location is the Whaley House.

The Whaley House is absolutely fascinating as its a family home, but also contains three separate businesses that were operational in the 1800’s. On the first floor, it contains a full courtroom (yes I said courtroom) and a general store. On the second floor amongst the bedrooms was also a theater that contained a stage and bench seating.

The Whaley House is considered by some to be the most haunted location in the United States. I had seen the episode of Ghost Adventures that featured the haunted house once upon a time but it’s been so long (the episode aired back in 2014) that I had long forgotten the story behind it. My trip to the Whaley House allowed me to refresh my memory of its haunted history.

It’s a story of tragedy while pursuing the American dream.

Thomas Whaley

The Whaley House gets its name from the New York businessman who built it, Thomas Whaley. Thomas was born in 1823 as the seventh of ten…

--

--

Zeke James
Ember Echoes

I love stories and storytelling. That's what drew me here to Medium. I’m a father of a wild toddler and former public accountant.