2 years into the Foreign Service

The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new lands but seeing with new eyes- Marcel Proust

Megha Arora
meghaarora
7 min readSep 9, 2020

--

I hope everyone is doing well! It gives me great pleasure to be back on Medium for an update on what life in the Foreign Service is like.

Disclaimer: The reason I took so long to write this post is because (a) I’m only still a probationer and thus, I cannot talk with any finality on what diplomatic life is all about as I have not lived through it (b) I now know that passing an exam is not a big deal and having a government job doesn’t automatically make someone special (c) I personally feel like a total misfit in this day and age of insta-flash and twitter noise. At the same time, I recognize that there are lovely humans out there who love this blog and would like me to speak candidly about the shifts that have taken place in my life. So I must confess that even though I had trouble putting this post together, I ultimately decided that in order to reconnect with all of you who connect with this blog, I will try to paint an “authentic” picture of the personal metamorphosis triggered by CSE selection.
Happy reading!

One of the first things we were told at the orientation was to leave our ranks and our egos outside the gates of LBSNAA and shed all sense of self-importance. Sure, the summer post selection is all about feeling on top of the world. It seems as if many of your wrongs have been pardoned because you toiled hard enough to enter the hallowed portals of our very own sarkaari Hogwarts. I call LBSNAA Hogwarts not to offend Harry Potter nerds but simply because the registration link to LBSNAA did remind me of the highly selective magical letter from Hogwarts- the only difference being that it showed up in my inbox though I would have preferred an owl. Days into LBSNAA, you realise that the three new letters associated with your personality do not give you bragging rights or put you on a pedestal. One cannot take oneself too seriously; one can only be grateful and inspired. There are wise seniors who remind you that the journey of learning has only begun and if one stops being a humble student of life, one has entirely missed the point of being a public servant.

Clouds and Silverwood

LBSNAA’s campus is beautiful and a place I miss to this day, mostly because I have always been a giant lover of the mountains. Café By The Way, Landour Bakehouse, Kalsang, Cafe Ivy, Rockby Manor and Doma’s Inn with their charming ambiance make Mussoorie one of the coolest café towns in India and a perfect backdrop for FC (short for foundation course). The big highlight of FC for me was the strenuous yet gratifying Himalayan trek. I don’t think I would have ever had the opportunity or the will to finish a 120 km mountainous trek route in the Himalayas over 10 days with one of the best trek groups. FC is also an occasion to just take a step back, relax and meet new people from different services and walks of life. I now understand why public servants talk so fondly of Mussoorie. To my mind as well, the word “Mussoorie” will forever evoke happiness, hope and new beginnings.

Chiki, who followed us all the way to the summit

After three months in Mussoorie, I joined the cosy campus of the Foreign Service Institute, a stone’s throw away from all the best places in South Delhi. At FSI, we had guest sessions by a variety of speakers on all aspects of India’s foreign relations and a variety of attachments that helped acquaint us with different facets of the service. The Bharat Darshan and Mission Attachment to Sri Lanka were two experiences that I personally found the most remarkable. In Colombo, one of our most important neighboring missions, I had the opportunity to observe diplomats in action on a foreign land. The different wings of the embassy keep an ear on the ground on all aspects of the relationship. Each country and therefore each posting presents a new bilateral dynamic and unique challenges and opportunities.

Colombo at sunset *

Soon after the training at FSI, I joined UNES (United Nations Economic and Social) Division at the Ministry of External Affairs for a two month long desk attachment. The desk attachment acquaints the officer trainees with the rhythm and the nature of work at the Ministry. Lunch breaks were mostly spent riding through the scorching Delhi heat in an auto to get a cup of chilled black coffee. The time at the Ministry flew by and soon after, I found myself pushing through paperwork and collecting new things for a new life: Blankets, pillows, bed sheets, utensils, ration, serving spoons, plates and bowls and cups, paintings, books and photographs.

As you are all aware, all Foreign Service probationers at FSI have to choose a compulsory foreign language. The languages on offer and the number of seats for every language vary each year. The language allocation depends on one’s rank in the UPSC. I chose French as my CFL and around this time last year, I moved to my station and started my French language classes. Learning a new language is an immensely gratifying endeavor and, to my mind, the most beautiful aspect of the Foreign Service training. Since I had already studied some French in school, I joined at the intermediate level and have been studying French religiously ever since. French is a beautiful language with a stunning richness. French music, cinema, art and literature, culture, history and politics give me enough motivation to learn this language every day. Overtime, my tryst with French has become more of a nerdy fetish rather than a task to be accomplished for the job.

Learning a language is an important aspect of diplomacy and the Foreign Service encourages you to be multilingual. Knowing the language of a country gives you access to media and content that one wouldn’t normally consume. It helps a diplomat present India’s story in the language of the host country and that has an important impact. Language is the gateway to building rapport and really understanding a culture, especially in a country such as France where the French prefer communicating in their own language. Learning a language is also a difficult endeavor and a life-long challenge. It is akin to rewiring your brain to engage with the world in a different way and demands much patience and persistence. However, it is also supremely fun. The joy one feels are being able to communicate with someone in a language that is not one’s own is unparalleled. I have had some miraculous moments of human connection that have made me realize that learning a language is a beautiful way to overcome the seemingly fixed barriers of cultural identity that tend to separate people and nations.

France being a P5 country and one of India’s foremost strategic partners means that the Embassy in Paris is very active. Most of my time is taken up learning french through not only formal classes but through podcasts, movies and TV series, music, news channels, newspapers and books. The remaining time is taken up by work at the Embassy which is both interesting and challenging. To sum it up, life is quite busy, there is a lot to learn (both on personal and professional fronts) and the time that one gets off is truly cherished. In the deluge of official interactions and bureaucratic activity, it is important to slow down and create spaces of stillness. The things that come to my aid: writing, reading, meditation, yoga, long walks, speaking to my parents, video chats with my grandma, museum-hopping and spending time with my loved one.

Not to forget: coffee and cake.

A question that often shows up in my inbox: Has the Foreign Service lived up to your expectations? In many ways, life in the service has exceeded my expectations and I do feel like I am in the right place. But please note that this is simply a subjective experience. Life in the Foreign Service is intellectually stimulating with endlessly fascinating opportunities. On the flip side, it is also a life that can be solitary and emotionally challenging. I cannot overemphasize the importance of thorough introspection before filling in the service preferences.

In the next few months, I will be writing my language exam after which I will wrap up my life in Paris and move to a new country in a different part of the world (hint: mountains!). And that’s also life in a nutshell: Don’t get too attached, be ready to pack your bags and discover yourself all over again!

From The Snow Leopard by Peter Mathiessen

All the very best to everyone writing the examination! Please don’t hesitate to get in touch with me.

May you all have healthy families and a happy mind (most important!)

Love,
Megha

--

--