All my GS mocks + GS marks

Megha Arora
meghaarora
Published in
2 min readAug 16, 2018
Early Morning History Revision at YIF

Here are some of my GS mocks I wrote during the GS 8 Mains Test Series at Vision IAS. You can get a fair idea of my answer writing style here. Some generic tips from my side:

  1. Figure out your presentation style. I wrote in points after giving a short introduction.
  2. In the introduction, you can simply define the key word of the question or give a historical context.
  3. Try to give multifaceted points for extra marks. Diversify your points. I usually used this acronym to manufacture multiple points on the spot — SPEECHI (Social, Political, Economic, Environmental, Cultural, Historical, International).
  4. Attempt 100%. Even if you have no idea about the question, write 4–5 lines on context and something that you know about the issue, even if it’s vague. Each mark matters.
  5. End with the conclusion by paraphrasing a balanced stand and giving some futuristic recommendations.
  6. You have 8–9 minutes for each question. I usually gave myself 5 minutes and that spilled over into 8. That kept me on a tight leash and I was able to complete all my papers on time. If you give yourself 8 minutes, you might spill over to 10. Just keep an eye on the clock during the examination.
    For this, resolve to finish 100% of your mock in a timed format. That practice will hold you in good stead during the actual Mains.
  7. Beautiful, neat handwriting does matter, unfortunately. Make checking easy for the examiner. Your answer script should stand out in a good way, both in content and presentation.

Other than that, I want to say that I have a decent performance in GS. Well, decent enough to get me my rank and service. However, there are people who have insane scores in GS this year. For example, Ayush Sinha (AIR 7) has a mind-boggling 964 in his written! Do check out how they have scored so much. They will be able to guide you better than me :)

Sample 40-day bootcamp schedule before the preliminary// These are macro targets. I had a daily schedule to achieve my macro target. Also this timetable wasn’t set in stone but was changed along the way.

--

--