RETRO-MIGRATION

KM Sharp
TravelArtistsHub: Artists Who Travel
2 min readMar 6, 2024
Photography by R Bram Silvey

retracing ancestral steps
I find my signature written across the world

I am the ancestor of myself
inside me

before I knew this name
I lived

in New Zealand on ancient Maori totems
my eyes are carved

Hindu statues of Bali laugh when I approach
recognizing an old friend

inside Bandelier cliff dwellings a fire burns
welcoming me home

in Nepalese temples the stones
call to me in dreams

Indigenous Peoples cave paintings
my hands ache

I look in wonder at what I created
only forgotten

I cannot see until I step outside
the continent of me

In soil, water and blood
I reflect

forming a new once again
renaming myself

over and over I become
part of this land

creating stories of pasts
about where the I was born

yet, a myth
all along

KM Sharp is a poet, writer, MSW, activist, producer and photographer originally from Saint Louis, Missouri, moved to Los Angeles, California and now lives as a digital nomad slow traveling and exploring the world. She received a BA in Communications from University of Colorado and a MSW from Saint Louis University. KM studied under the renowned Welsh-American poet, bard and scholar Jon Dressel and co-produces the monthly literary and music show Poems, Prose and Pints. She has performed in shows and events nationally and internationally and her poetry and writings appear in various publications and anthologies. KM is the author of two ebooks, I Become One and Heirs of November. Check out her travel blog/publication TravelArtistsHub.

--

--