Candid Chat with Dr. Asawari Joshi on Parenting

Sid Jain
First Crayon
Published in
2 min readMar 22, 2019
Note: For representation only

Dr. Asawari Joshi, a mother from Mahim West, shares her experience with First Crayon (www.firstcrayon.com) of finding her child’s first school.

How did you decide at what age to send your child to their first school?

I wanted my child to begin her social development. I also wanted to make sure that she was making productive use of her time. So I decided to send her to preschool early.

What were your information sources during the preschool search process? Which source was the most valuable?

Friends, neighbors and feedback from other parents. I have realized that word of mouth is the best review of a preschool as people will be honest with you.

What were your 3 most important factors while choosing a preschool? Why?

Quality of education, infrastructure and fee were my essential factors for choosing a preschool. I wanted to be sure of what my child would learn and what methods were used in teaching. I wanted my child to have the best facilities for her development.

What is the one thing that you feel you did really well during your preschool search, and other mothers should learn from you?

I chose a preschool which is near my home. A preschool should always be near to your home. If there is any emergency, you can reach the preschool quickly.

What changes do you see in your child after going to preschool?

My child has become alert and friendly. She expresses herself very well. She has learnt manners and completes her homework on time.

What is your most important tip for parents to prepare their child and themselves for the first day of preschool?

A child is very happy to go to preschool, even though it may take them some time to adjust. The preschool will do the needful to make the child comfortable.

Request: If you appreciated the article, please like and share.

You can make a difference by raising your voice and sharing your opinions/experiences on social media platforms and blogs such as Medium.

Note: Actual image reproduced with permission

--

--