Candid Chat with Ashwini Palkar on Parenting

Sid Jain
First Crayon
Published in
2 min readDec 15, 2017
Note: For representation only

Ashwini Palkar, a mother from Dadar West, shares her experience with First Crayon (www.firstcrayon.com) of finding her children’s first school.

How did you decide at what age to send your child to their first school?

I sent my child to preschool when she was 30 months old. From my research, I have seen that this is the age criteria for admission to preschools so I decided to follow the recommended age. I had also seen that she was independent and felt that she was ready to take the step.

What were your information sources during the preschool search process? Which source was the most valuable?

I visited the preschools located nearby to see the facilities and teaching for myself. I also spoke to other parents whose children studied in these preschools. I found their advice and feedback very useful in the decision process.

What were your 3 most important factors while choosing a preschool? Why?

Proximity, teaching quality and infrastructure are the three factors that I considered. My child is young and I don’t want her to waste her time traveling to a preschool that is far away. The quality of teaching is important as the concepts that she learns in preschool will build her foundation of primary school. Infrastructure is important as I want my child to be safe and well taken care of.

What is the one thing that you feel you did really well during your preschool search, and other mothers should learn from you?

It is important for parents to know their own priorities and focus on those when choosing a preschool. I was very sure of the things that were important to me and made sure to verify those factors during my decision-making process.

What changes do you see in your child after going to preschool?

I have seen my children become more social, outgoing and confident. Their independence levels have also improved.

What is your most important tip for parents to prepare their child and themselves for the first day of preschool?

The preschool is a new experience for children and they don’t know what to expect. They will look towards their parents for behavioral cues. Provide them with positive cues to build upon.

Request: If you appreciated the article, please like and share.

You can also join the movement by raising your voice and sharing your opinions/experiences on social media platforms and blogs such as Medium.

--

--