Candid Chat with Bhakti Shah on Parenting

Sid Jain
First Crayon
Published in
2 min readJul 26, 2019
Note: For representation only

Bhakti Shah, a mother from Prabhadevi, shares her experience with First Crayon (www.firstcrayon.com) of finding her child’s first school.

How did you decide at what age to send your child to their first school?

I never believed in mother-toddlers. That is why I decided to put my child in preschool after 24 months. I wanted to send my child at a stage where he is able to understand and express himself.

What were your information sources during the preschool search process? Which source was the most valuable?

Newspapers, friends and relatives were the sources that I depended upon. My friend’s experiences helped me to choose an ideal preschool for my child.

What were your 3 most important factors while choosing a preschool? Why?

Play time for kids, curriculum and infrastructure were the factors that I looked at. I wanted to make sure that my child got sufficient amount of playtime. I gave a lot of importance to the curriculum. I can see the vocabulary difference between my child and other children learning in different curriculums. I also wanted a large open space for my child to appreciate and enjoy outdoor play.

What is the one thing that you feel you did really well during your preschool search, and other mothers should learn from you?

I chose a preschool on the basis of the curriculum. I can see the difference between my child and other children. The way of teaching is really very nice. My son is learning. My advice to parents would be to research curriculums and choose the one that is right for their child.

What changes do you see in your child after going to preschool?

My child has learned etiquette and is well mannered. He is also able to express himself well and is more social at home.

What is your most important tip for parents to prepare their child and themselves for the first day of preschool?

He got settled on the first day of preschool. I started preparing him in advance. I was little nervous but I kept my confidence. My advice to parents is to stay confident.

Request: If you appreciated the article, please like and share.

You can also join the movement by raising your voice and sharing your opinions/experiences on social media platforms and blogs such as Medium.

--

--