Candid Chat with Seleta Dias on Parenting

Sid Jain
First Crayon
Published in
2 min readJan 18, 2019
Note: For representation only

Seleta Dias, a mother from Mahim West, shares her experience with First Crayon (www.firstcrayon.com) of finding her child’s first school.

How did you decide at what age to send your child to their first school?

I was not very keen to send my child to preschool. However, I knew it was important for him to get used to the formal school environment and form right habits before starting first grade. So, I chose a later start.

What were your information sources during the preschool search process? Which source was the most valuable?

I looked up the preschools that were close to my home. I asked for feedback from friends and family. I was able to make a good decision after getting detailed feedback from my friends.

What were your 3 most important factors while choosing a preschool? Why?

Closeness to home, verified feedback and infrastructure were the three most important factors for me while choosing my child’s preschool. Since I work, I wanted my child to be close to home. In order to trust the preschool, positive feedback was a must. It is also important to me that my child is in an airy classroom, and is provided with a large play area.

What is the one thing that you feel you did really well during your preschool search, and other mothers should learn from you?

I decided to choose a preschool close to home. I think that at such a young age, rather than choose the perfect preschool that is far, it makes sense to have your child close by.

What changes do you see in your child after going to preschool?

My child was exposed to a lot of new things such as festivals and ethnic celebrations. He also had the opportunity to be more social by participating in picnics and fancy dress days.

What is your most important tip for parents to prepare their child and themselves for the first day of preschool?

At such a young age, you cannot undertake any formal preparation. It is important for parents to stay positive and let go. You have done your due diligence, now trust the preschool to take care of your child.

Request: If you appreciated the article, please like and share.

You can also join the movement by raising your voice and sharing your opinions/experiences on social media platforms and blogs such as Medium.

--

--