Candid Chat with Sujal Dhaval Shah on Parenting

Sid Jain
First Crayon
Published in
2 min readAug 3, 2018
Note: For representation only

Sujal Dhaval Shah, a mother from Mahim West, shares her experience with First Crayon (www.firstcrayon.com) of finding her child’s first school.

How did you decide at what age to send your child to their first school?

I had heard that 2 and a half years was the ideal age to send children to a Playgroup. So I decided to enroll my child when he turned 30 months.

What were your information sources during the preschool search process? Which source was the most valuable?

After conducting initial research online, I shortlisted a few preschools in my area. I then visited these preschools personally before making a decision.

What were your 3 most important factors while choosing a preschool? Why?

Curriculum, activities and proximity to home were the factors that I considered essential while choosing a preschool. The right curriculum is important for my child to start learning essential skills. A good set of activities is necessary for my child to have fun during the learning process. I wanted a preschool close to home so that my child will not have to travel far.

What is the one thing that you feel you did really well during your preschool search, and other mothers should learn from you?

I focused on curriculum rather than focusing on sending him to a branded playgroup. I suggest that parents focus on the quality of education rather than a name-brand when they are searching for a preschool.

What changes do you see in your child after going to preschool?

My child has learned to write very well. His English has improved as well.

What is your most important tip for parents to prepare their child and themselves for the first day of preschool?

Talk to your child about what they are going to learn in the preschool so that they are prepared for their first day. Listen to their stories and encourage them to talk to you about their day.

Request: If you appreciated the article, please like and share.

You can also join the movement by raising your voice and sharing your opinions/experiences on social media platforms and blogs such as Medium.

--

--