Candid Chat with Vallary Shevde on Parenting

Sid Jain
First Crayon
Published in
3 min readOct 26, 2018
Note: For representation only

Vallary Shevde, a mother from Mahim West, shares her experience with First Crayon (www.firstcrayon.com) of finding her child’s first school.

How did you decide at what age to send your child to their first school?

When my child turned two, I thought it was time for her to get exposed to more people. I also wanted her to spend more time playing outdoors. I thought it was a good time to enroll her in a preschool.

What were your information sources during the preschool search process? Which source was the most valuable?

I was sure that I wanted to put her in a non-branded preschool. Branded preschools are too clinical and professional. I wanted a preschool which is warm and kind and feels like an extension of home for my child. I visited preschools in my area personally and then took the decision.

What were your 3 most important factors while choosing a preschool? Why?

Location, atmosphere and faculty were the critical factors during my preschool search. I wanted a preschool close to home so that I can pick up and drop her easily. The atmosphere should be warm and cozy. The teachers should be friendly and understand my child’s unique needs.

What is the one thing that you feel you did really well during your preschool search, and other mothers should learn from you?

I focused on preschools which are simple and provide quality education. Parents should look beyond brand names and focus on what really matters for their child’s development.

What changes do you see in your child after going to preschool?

My child has opened up and become more friendly. She is polite and greets everyone sweetly. She has started to learn numbers and enjoys reciting poetry.

What is your most important tip for parents to prepare their child and themselves for the first day of preschool?

Let children be like children. Let them learn and unlearn. Don’t keep instructing them. The established preschool brands are selling unrealistic expectations. We should only want our child to be happy and kind towards others. If she wants to play in that sandpit, let her play. If he wants to roll out that roti dough and create a mess, let him do it. Don’t force children to behave like adults.

Let go of the stress and enjoy the me-time. Your child is perfectly safe in preschool and will settle in time. Take the opportunity to do something for yourself.

Request: If you appreciated the article, please like and share.

You can also join the movement by raising your voice and sharing your opinions/experiences on social media platforms and blogs such as Medium.

--

--