Candid Chat with Elizabeth Maxlin on Parenting

Sid Jain
First Crayon
Published in
3 min readJun 22, 2018
Note: For representation only

Elizabeth Maxlin, a mother from Mahim West, shares her experience with First Crayon (www.firstcrayon.com) of finding her children’s first school.

How did you decide at what age to send your child to their first school?

My child is friendly and active. He likes to interact with other children. I wanted to encourage this behavior and help him develop further, so I decided to send him to a preschool.

What were your information sources during the preschool search process? Which source was the most valuable?

I picked a preschool that is close to my home. I knew about the preschool since it a popular one. Many children from my area and my friend’s children as well attend the same preschool.

What were your 3 most important factors while choosing a preschool? Why?

Security, hygiene and curriculum are the three essential factors that I considered while choosing a preschool. Security is of paramount importance — I want my child to be in safe hands. Along with safety, I am concerned about my child’s health. Hygiene of the school and its premises is critical to ensure that he doesn’t catch any infections. Lastly, the curriculum is important because I want my child to make productive use of his time.

What is the one thing that you feel you did really well during your preschool search, and other mothers should learn from you?

I chose to send my child to a preschool close by. Since he is young, I don’t want him to be spending more time than necessary in a car. It is tiring for the child, and also not safe. I would advise parents to consider options close to their home.

What changes do you see in your child after going to preschool?

My child has become more social and empathetic since starting preschool. He interacts with other children, and is more talkative at home. He has also started to actively and happily share his things with other children.

What is your most important tip for parents to prepare their child and themselves for the first day of preschool?

My son cried on the first day of the preschool. It took a few days for him to adjust to the newness of it all. My advice to parents is twofold. First, start talking to your child about the preschool a few days before they are due to start. Help them understand what is in store for them and why its important. Secondly, keep yourself free on the first few days of your child’s preschool. This allows you to be available to provide emotional support to your child during the adjustment period.

Request: If you appreciated the article, please like and share.

You can also join the movement by raising your voice and sharing your opinions/experiences on social media platforms and blogs such as Medium.

--

--