Candid Chat with Hitesh Pohani on Parenting

Sid Jain
First Crayon
Published in
3 min readJul 21, 2017
Note: For representation only

Hitesh Pohani, a father from Matunga West, shares his experience with First Crayon (www.firstcrayon.com) of finding his child’s first school.

How did you decide about the age to send your child to their first school?

My wife and I had heard a lot about the mother-toddler program and were keen to try it for our own child. We enrolled him at 9 months of age. However, on trying the class for ourselves, we were not happy with the setup and the results. We would have preferred to wait and directly enroll our child in a preschool, at the earliest age that is allowed.

What were your information sources during the preschool search process? Which source was the most valuable?

My first point of contact was to get information and feedback from friends and relatives who had young children. After learning from them, I shortlisted and visited preschools in person. The feedback from people I knew was useful for the shortlisting process.

What were your 3 most important factors while choosing a preschool? Why?

Reputation, board and distance were the three factors that we kept in mind during our preschool search. I wanted my child to study in ICSE board and looked for preschools that would help transition into the top ICSE schools. For this reason, the preschool reputation was also very important. Additionally, since we sent our child to preschool at a young age, I wanted to have him close to home, and so picked a preschool that was nearby.

What is the one thing that you feel you did really well during your preschool search, and other parents should learn from you?

Not only did I visit the preschools that I shortlisted, but I interacted with other parents and teachers there. This way, I was able to see first-hand the quality of the education that my child would receive. Talking to parents at the preschool also helped me to get current information and understand how happy their children were. This strategy of exploratory, in-person visits helped me make a good decision.

What changes do you see in your child after going to preschool?

I’ve seen a marked improvement in his language skills. He has a better vocabulary and is more comfortable interacting in English. He’s made a lot of new friends and is able to express himself well. He has become bolder, and a little naughtier.

What is your most important tip for parents to prepare their child and themselves for the first day of preschool?

Parents tend to get agitated at every change in their child’s life. Children are naturally inclined to thrive in new environments if they are trusted and given the chance to adjust. My advice to parents would be to stay calm and enjoy the process.

Request: If you appreciated the article, please like and share.

You can also join the movement by raising your voice and sharing your opinions/experiences on social media platforms and blogs such as Medium.

--

--