Candid Chat with Janvi Daryanani on Parenting

Sid Jain
First Crayon
Published in
3 min readSep 22, 2017
Note: For representation only

Janvi Daryanani, a mother from Mahim West, shares her experience with First Crayon (www.firstcrayon.com) of finding her children’s first school.

How did you decide at what age to send your child to their first school?

Once my children were interacting with us easily, I wanted them to learn to be more social. More than waiting for a certain age, I waited for the time when I felt that my children were eager to learn and explore.

What were your information sources during the preschool search process? Which source was the most valuable?

The sources that I used to learn about preschools were online research, newspapers and conversations with friends. I got a lot of valuable information through online research, and it reduced my time of personally visiting multiple preschools. When I narrowed down to a few preschools, I chatted with my friends to help me make the final decision.

What were your 3 most important factors while choosing a preschool? Why?

Method of teaching, teaching style and open area to play are the three factors that I considered vital while looking for my children’s preschool. My children enjoy a teaching method that is a combination of play and study, and I was keen for the preschool teaching method to be an extension of how we bring up our children at home. The style of the teacher is critical in how well children can grasp concepts, and so this was a consideration as well. Lastly, I wanted my children to have the advantage of an open play area to exert their energy.

What is the one thing that you feel you did really well during your preschool search, and other mothers should learn from you?

I looked beyond distance and reputation which is what most parents look at. I looked into factors that would determine the child’s development and happiness such as playtime, and how the school strives to make learning interesting for children. Parents should remember that the preschool is the foundation to the rest of the child’s development and take these factors into account when they make their choice.

What changes do you see in your child after going to preschool?

My children have become more friendly. They are more observant and are constantly incorporating learning into their daily lives. They are always asking new questions, interested in knowing facts, and exploring objects around them. Their etiquette at home has improved as well.

What is your most important tip for parents to prepare their child and themselves for the first day of preschool?

Your child will meet a lot of new people, and may not necessarily get along with all of them immediately. Be there for your child and listen to them. Don’t unnecessarily egg them on or over excite them. Be a calming presence in their life as they navigate their first important experience outside of home.

Request: If you appreciated the article, please like and share.

You can also join the movement by raising your voice and sharing your opinions/experiences on social media platforms and blogs such as Medium.

--

--