Candid Chat with Kammna Agarwal on Parenting

Sid Jain
First Crayon
Published in
3 min readJun 30, 2017
Note: For representation only

Kammna Agarwal, a mother from Mahim West, shares her experience with First Crayon (www.firstcrayon.com) of finding her child’s first school.

How did you decide about the age to send your child to their first school?

Once my child was old enough to interact effectively with others, I enrolled her in a playgroup. I wanted her to have the opportunity to make new friends and mix with children of her age. I thought that this would be the best way to introduce more fun and enjoyment into her days.

What were your information sources during the preschool search process? Which source was the most valuable?

I frankly did not do much research. I looked for a playschool that was close to home, and since it met my desired criteria, I enrolled my child there.

What were your 3 most important factors while choosing a preschool? Why?

Hygiene, security and methods of teaching are the factors that I considered before finalizing the preschool. My child is very young. If the premises are not kept clean, she would easily catch an infection. Every parent wants their child to be safe, and I am no different. Considering how expensive preschools are these days, I wanted to make sure that my child is learning effectively (and not just the same things that she picks up at home). So, the teaching methods are something that I paid attention to.

What is the one thing that you feel you did really well during your preschool search, and other mothers should learn from you?

My child’s health and safety were top of mind for me when finalizing the preschool. The preschool is hygienic, and it also keeps me updated about my child. I think these are factors that are worth considering when parents are deciding where to let their child spend 3–4 hours a day away from them.

What changes do you see in your child after going to preschool?

My child loves to go to her preschool. She has become so social! She has made a lot of friends and likes to play with them. She has learned to share her toys with her friends. She has also become more communicative at home as she likes to tell us about her experiences at her preschool.

What is your most important tip for parents to prepare their child and themselves for the first day of preschool?

I made sure to talk to my child in advance and prepare her for preschool. In the weeks leading up to the first day, we would talk about how she would meet new people, make new friends and learn a lot of new things. By the time the first day of preschool came around, she was super excited to start and I wasn’t worried about her being away from home as I had earlier anticipated.

Request: If you appreciated the article, please like and share.

You can also join the movement by raising your voice and sharing your opinions/experiences on social media platforms and blogs such as Medium.

--

--