Candid Chat with Lina Shah on Parenting

Sid Jain
First Crayon
Published in
2 min readFeb 8, 2019
Note: For representation only

Lina Shah, a mother from Matunga West, shares her experience with First Crayon (www.firstcrayon.com) of finding her child’s first school.

How did you decide at what age to send your child to their first school?

The preschool that we had selected was enrolling children above the age of 14 months for their new batch. Since our child was 18 months of age, we thought it would be an appropriate time for him to start preschool.

What were your information sources during the preschool search process? Which source was the most valuable?

I wanted a preschool that was close by. I was already aware of the preschools in my area. I visited them personally and then made a decision.

What were your 3 most important factors while choosing a preschool? Why?

Security, teachers and quality of education are my top factors for choosing a preschool. I should feel that my child is safe and secure in the preschool premises. Teachers should be friendly and caring with my child so that he feels comfortable. The quality of education is of paramount importance as the preschool should prepare my child for school admission interviews.

What is the one thing that you feel you did really well during your preschool search, and other mothers should learn from you?

I chose a preschool which has a good crowd and reputation. Children learn a lot through observation and want to mimic what their friends are doing. Other children can be a big behavioral influence in preschools. I wanted my child to be around children who would be a positive influence on him.

What changes do you see in your child after going to preschool?

My child has started to show more signs of independence. Since mixing with other children, he is more confident and outgoing. He is able to better explain things and his vocabulary has expanded quite a bit.

What is your most important tip for parents to prepare their child and themselves for the first day of preschool?

Talk to your child about the preschool everyday and be encouraging. Don’t be nervous — It affects your child and influences their behavior.

Request: If you appreciated the article, please like and share.

You can also join the movement by raising your voice and sharing your opinions/experiences on social media platforms and blogs such as Medium.

--

--