Candid Chat with Manasi Furtado on Parenting

Sid Jain
First Crayon
Published in
2 min readSep 1, 2017
Note: For representation only

Manasi Furtado, a mother from Mahim West, shares her experience with First Crayon (www.firstcrayon.com) of finding her child’s first school.

How did you decide at what age to send your child to their first school?

I wanted my child to get exposure to the outside world as soon as possible. I decided to enroll him in a preschool when he was 18 months of age.

What were your information sources during the preschool search process? Which source was the most valuable?

I spoke to my friends and relatives to find out about their experiences. Because we shared the same values and priorities, the information from my relatives was what I found most useful. Using their feedback, I was able to find the right preschool for my child.

What were your 3 most important factors while choosing a preschool? Why?

Proximity, hygiene and teachers were the top factors during my preschool search. The preschool should be close to home so that my young child doesn’t spend a long time traveling. I want him to be in clean surroundings so that he does not fall sick. Teacher quality is important, as I want my child to be in a friendly and warm environment.

What is the one thing that you feel you did really well during your preschool search, and other mothers should learn from you?

I personally visited the preschools to see the quality of facilities they provide. It is essential to do an in-person check before enrolling your child.

What changes do you see in your child after going to preschool?

My child made friends and learnt to mix around with other children of his age. He learnt to communicate, adjust in a different environment and share. Also, he has learnt to follow a regular routine and has learnt about being disciplined.

What is your most important tip for parents to prepare their child and themselves for the first day of preschool?

Prepare your child by telling them about the wonderful things they are going to experience in preschool. Stay positive and encouraging.

Request: If you appreciated the article, please like and share.

You can also join the movement by raising your voice and sharing your opinions/experiences on social media platforms and blogs such as Medium.

--

--