Candid Chat with Namratha Kalambi on Parenting

Sid Jain
First Crayon
Published in
3 min readNov 16, 2018
Note: For representation only

Namratha Kalambi, a mother from Dadar West, shares her experience with First Crayon (www.firstcrayon.com) of finding her child’s first school.

How did you decide at what age to send your child to their first school?

My child showed the willingness and desire to mix with other children from a very young age. This is something that she does not have the opportunity to do very much at home. At the age of 16 months, I enrolled her in a preschool. This gave her the chance to play with and learn from other children of her age group.

What were your information sources during the preschool search process? Which source was the most valuable?

Since I was enrolling my child at such a young age, I wanted to be absolutely sure of the preschool that I put her in. I spoke to other mothers so that I was able to get their first-hand experience. I found this feedback very useful in my preschool search.

What were your 3 most important factors while choosing a preschool? Why?

Faculty, curriculum and hygiene are my essential factors. The teacher molds a child’s personality. For this, it is crucial to have empathetic teachers that can really understand and work with my child. The curriculum is important for my child to build a solid base. Lastly, hygiene is crucial for my child to be safe and protected at the preschool as young children are easily susceptible to infections.

What is the one thing that you feel you did really well during your preschool search, and other mothers should learn from you?

I did a very detailed search before finalizing my child’s preschool. I made sure to talk to parents to get verified reviews. This is important to make sure that the information that one has about the preschool is accurate. It is also helpful to judge the softer side of things that can’t be quantified in numbers.

What changes do you see in your child after going to preschool?

The opportunity to interact with other children on a regular basis has helped my child to become more open and friendly. I have also seen a positive increase in her confidence levels.

What is your most important tip for parents to prepare their child and themselves for the first day of preschool?

It is okay if your child cries for a few days. Don’t get ruffled by this. It is all part of the process as they learn to navigate change.

Request: If you appreciated the article, please like and share.

You can also join the movement by raising your voice and sharing your opinions/experiences on social media platforms and blogs such as Medium.

--

--