Candid Chat with Paurnima Sabnis on Parenting

Sid Jain
First Crayon
Published in
3 min readMay 19, 2017
Note: For representation only

Paurnima Sabnis, a mother from Mahim West, shares her experience with First Crayon (www.firstcrayon.com) of finding her child’s first school.

How did you decide at what age to send your child to their first school?

The preschool batch generally starts in June. My child turned 20 months in June, and we thought that this was an appropriate age for him to start. We did not want to wait for another 12 months.

What were your information sources during the preschool search process? Which source was the most valuable?

I wanted my child to be in a preschool that was close to my home. I was aware of the schools in my area. I personally visited each one to learn more about them. This was a very valuable exercise and something that every parent should do.

What were your 3 most important factors while choosing a preschool? Why?

Teacher-Student ratio, proximity and safety were my preferred filters during the preschool search. Teacher-student ratio is important as I don’t a want crowded classroom — my child should get personalized attention. A preschool close by makes it easy for me to pick up and drop my child. I don’t want my child in a preschool that takes children on field trips as I worry for my child’s safety.

What is the one thing that you feel you did really well during your preschool search, and other mothers should learn from you?

I went to 3 shortlisted preschools. I took down details regarding the different batches, curriculum followed and details of field trips. I checked the cleanliness of the classrooms and toilets. I would advise parents to start with research and follow up with detailed visits to the shortlisted preschools before making a decision.

What changes do you see in your child after going to preschool?

My child took 6 months to settle into the preschool. After spending time with children of his age, he became more social. He has become more outgoing and enjoys going to preschool everyday.

What is your most important tip for parents to prepare their child and themselves for the first day of preschool?

You should mentor your child. Tell them that they will be meeting new people. Tell them what to expect at the preschool. If possible, take them to visit the preschool beforehand and familiarize them with the teacher and the classroom. Parents should not expect the children to be comfortable on the first day. Let them take their time.

Request: If you appreciated the article, please like and share.

You can also join the movement by raising your voice and sharing your opinions/experiences on social media platforms and blogs such as Medium.

--

--