Candid Chat with Pradnya Bhere on Parenting

Sid Jain
First Crayon
Published in
3 min readOct 5, 2018
Note: For representation only

Pradnya Bhere, a mother from Elphinstone West, shares her experience with First Crayon (www.firstcrayon.com) of finding her children’s first school.

How did you decide at what age to send your child to their first school?

My child was able to easily comprehend things after he was one year old. I wanted him to participate in activities and learn things beyond what he was experiencing at home. So I decided to enroll him in preschool at the age of 18 months.

What were your information sources during the preschool search process? Which source was the most valuable?

I had received a brochure of a preschool advertising their summer activities. I enrolled my elder son in their summer program. I was very happy with the facilities and the teaching method. I thought it would be a good place for my younger son to go to preschool.

What were your 3 most important factors while choosing a preschool? Why?

Teachers, hygiene and location are the three things that I cared about while choosing a preschool. Good quality teachers will ensure that my child is taught in a comprehensive manner. Since our children go to preschool at such a young age, the teachers should also be kind and compassionate. Hygiene is important so that my child does not fall sick. I want to maximize my child’s time, and would rather have him in a preschool close to home than for him to spend a long time commuting.

What is the one thing that you feel you did really well during your preschool search, and other mothers should learn from you?

I chose a preschool that had been tried and tested (in this case, by my elder son). Even if my own son had not attended the preschool’s summer program, I would have wanted to pick a preschool that had a good reputation with trusted people.

What changes do you see in your child after going to preschool?

At first, my child was quite reserved and did not interact much with other people or children. After going to preschool, he has become a lot more outgoing. He is comfortable around people visiting our home. He likes to meet new people and recite poems. He has also become more active and curious.

What is your most important tip for parents to prepare their child and themselves for the first day of preschool?

I don’t think that parents need to make any specific preparations. Children have an innate ability to adapt to their surroundings. While it might take some children longer than others, they will soon begin to enjoy the new experience of the preschool.

Request: If you appreciated the article, please like and share.

You can also join the movement by raising your voice and sharing your opinions/experiences on social media platforms and blogs such as Medium.

--

--