Candid Chat with Preeti Cheddha on Parenting

Sid Jain
First Crayon
Published in
2 min readApr 20, 2018
Note: For representation only

Preeti Cheddha, a mother from Dadar West, shares her experience with First Crayon (www.firstcrayon.com) of finding her children’s first school.

How did you decide at what age to send your child to their first school?

My children have their whole lives to be in school and study! I wanted them to enjoy home life for some years. So I decided to put them in preschool when they turned 2.

What were your information sources during the preschool search process? Which source was the most valuable?

Internet and friends. We researched preschools in our area on the internet. Since they were located nearby, we were already aware about the preschools. We visited the preschools and chose the one that we really liked. Our friends also helped by giving candid feedback.

What were your 3 most important factors while choosing a preschool? Why?

Timings, teaching style and food service are my preferred factors. Timing of the preschool is important as my child wakes up early and I prefer a morning batch as well. I prefer a creative and encouraging way of teaching that makes my child a keen learner. It is also important for the preschool to serve nutritious food to my child.

What is the one thing that you feel you did really well during your preschool search, and other mothers should learn from you?

I searched for a good preschool by focusing on important factors like education, creativity and teachers. I advise other parents to do the same. Know what is important to you rather than listening to what your friends are doing — they may have different priorities.

What changes do you see in your child after going to preschool?

Preschool inculcated good etiquette in my child. He has also become more active. He is social and able to express himself well.

What is your most important tip for parents to prepare their child and themselves for the first day of preschool?

Children take time to adjust to any new atmosphere. This stage comes in every parent’s life. I advise parents to stay calm and go with the flow.

Request: If you appreciated the article, please like and share.

You can also join the movement by raising your voice and sharing your opinions/experiences on social media platforms and blogs such as Medium.

--

--