Candid Chat with Preeti Haria on Parenting

Sid Jain
First Crayon
Published in
3 min readMay 3, 2019
Note: For representation only

Preeti Haria, a mother from Dadar West, shares her experience with First Crayon (www.firstcrayon.com) of finding her child’s first school.

How did you decide at what age to send your child to their first school?

The preschool that I chose for my child had their academic year beginning when my child was 20 months of age. Since his age seemed aligned with the ages of other children who were being enrolled, I thought it was a good time for him to start preschool as well.

What were your information sources during the preschool search process? Which source was the most valuable?

I conducted an online search to learn more about the preschools. My child used to attend activity classes in the same preschool that I enrolled him in for playgroup. Since I was happy with the activity classes, I thought it would be best for him to continue in the same place where he was already comfortable.

What were your 3 most important factors while choosing a preschool? Why?

Hygiene, distance from home and curriculum were the factors that I concentrated on during the preschool selection process. My child was quite young when he started preschool so I wanted him to be in a place that was clean, secure, and close by. I was clear that I wanted to send my child to a preschool that follows the PlayWay method. At this young age, I did not want my child to face any academic pressure. Since the PlayWay method of teaching focuses on learning through fun and games, I thought it was the appropriate choice for my child.

What is the one thing that you feel you did really well during your preschool search, and other mothers should learn from you?

I read preschool reviews written by other parents online. You may not always have direct access to other mothers who have sent their children to the same preschools that you are considering. And even if you do, they may have different priorities, or may not want to admit shortcomings of the preschool that their child is currently attending. For these reasons, I thought it made sense to read unbiased reviews online before committing to a preschool for my child.

What changes do you see in your child after going to preschool?

My child very quickly became more social. He was more vocal, and easily able to express himself. We could clearly see the positive impact of spending time with others of his own age. He is always smiling and loves his time in the preschool. His confidence increases day by day, and I enjoy seeing new changes in my child on an ongoing basis.

What is your most important tip for parents to prepare their child and themselves for the first day of preschool?

The preschool that I chose for my child allowed a process of gradual separation. This, along with his previous exposure to activity classes, allowed him to settle in without much fuss or drama. I would advise parents to get their child used to the separation slowly, using one or both of the ways that I did. This way it is not a shock for the child to suddenly be away from their parents for 2–3 hours.

Request: If you appreciated the article, please like and share.

You can also join the movement by raising your voice and sharing your opinions/experiences on social media platforms and blogs such as Medium.

--

--