Candid Chat with Sheila Banthia on Parenting

Sid Jain
First Crayon
Published in
2 min readJun 9, 2017
Note: For representation only

Sheila Banthia, a mother from Borivali West, shares her experience with First Crayon (www.firstcrayon.com) of finding her child’s first school.

How did you decide at what age to send your child to their first school?

My child is very outgoing and social. When she started to walk and speak, we wanted to encourage her interactions with other children. We thought this was the perfect time to put her in preschool.

What were your information sources during the preschool search process? Which source was the most valuable?

I wanted a preschool that was near my home. I visited the preschools in my area, looked at the facilities and met with the teachers. When I found a preschool that fit with what I was looking for, I enrolled my child in that preschool.

What were your 3 most important factors while choosing a preschool? Why?

Open area to play, friendly environment and play-based method are the three most important factors for me. Our children should have large open areas to play since they grow up in a busy city. Having a friendly environment is necessary in order to make learning fun. I also wanted my child to be taught through playful activities since she is quite young and I don’t want her to feel any pressure.

What is the one thing that you feel you did really well during your preschool search, and other mothers should learn from you?

I personally visited the schools that I was considering before I made my decision. One of the important factors for me was that the school should follow the PlayWay method. The only way to be really sure that a school is delivering on its promises is by visiting the school and verifying.

What changes do you see in your child after going to preschool?

I sent my child to preschool when she had just started speaking. She is now very comfortable and expresses herself easily. She is able to accurately identify objects and share her experiences.

What is your most important tip for parents to prepare their child and themselves for the first day of preschool?

There is no need to over-prepare. When the child is young, you should just have fun and go with the flow.

Request: If you appreciated the article, please like and share.

You can also join the movement by raising your voice and sharing your opinions/experiences on social media platforms and blogs such as Medium.

--

--