Candid Chat with Supriya Darekar on Parenting

Sid Jain
First Crayon
Published in
3 min readSep 6, 2019
Note: For representation only

Supriya Darekar, a mother from Dadar West, shares her experience with First Crayon (www.firstcrayon.com) of finding her children’s first school.

How did you decide at what age to send your child to their first school?

I decided to send my child to preschool at an early age as I wanted to encourage her to be productive. I thought that it would be beneficial for her to interact with other children. It was a preferred to a more isolated environment at home and the ill-influences of television.

What were your information sources during the preschool search process? Which source was the most valuable?

Since I am lucky that I run my own preschool, I didn’t feel the need to look elsewhere. I thought that it would be best for my child to study in the same preschool. This way, I am able to observe my child, and can proactively inculcate the values that I consider important.

What were your 3 most important factors while choosing a preschool? Why?

Teachers, curriculum and the atmosphere of the preschool are the factors that determine the right choice of preschool for me. A teacher is a guide for my child, and so the teacher quality is most important. Curriculum defines the learning path that my child will take, and so it is also a vital consideration. For example, my preschool focuses on visual thinking which makes learning easier for young children. The atmosphere is also important as the right attitude and surroundings will aid my child in developing a deeper, sustained interest towards learning.

What is the one thing that you feel you did really well during your preschool search, and other mothers should learn from you?

The focus on curriculum is the most crucial part that often gets forgotten while looking at other parameters. I would advise parents to give more importance to the curriculum while choosing a preschool. Identify the learning mechanisms and styles that work best for your child, and look for preschools that subscribe to the same philosophy.

What changes do you see in your child after going to preschool?

After going to preschool, my child has learned the value of sharing. She has developed positive etiquette and is polite and well mannered, both at home and outside. The preschool’s focus on visual thinking has made her develop quickly and has made her hungry to learn more.

What is your most important tip for parents to prepare their child and themselves for the first day of preschool?

Children are innocent, blank slates. Parents should not put strict rules and regulations on them. It is important to let them explore, experiment, and learn on their own.

Request: If you appreciated the article, please like and share.

You can also join the movement by raising your voice and sharing your opinions/experiences on social media platforms and blogs such as Medium.

--

--