Candid Chat with Ujwala Kadam on Parenting

Sid Jain
First Crayon
Published in
3 min readAug 11, 2017
Note: For representation only

Ujwala Kadam, a mother from Mahim West, shares her experience with First Crayon (www.firstcrayon.com) of finding her child’s first school.

How did you decide at what age to send your child to their first school?

I decided to send my child to preschool at the age of 2 and a half years. I chose this age so that he would have enough time to build a routine and get habituated to attending school. I wanted him to have a good foundation before he started primary school. I was also keen for him to begin learning outside of home.

What were your information sources during the preschool search process? Which source was the most valuable?

During my search process, I found feedback from family and friends to be the most valuable. While basic objective information on the preschools was available, I was unable to find trusted reviews and opinions and so I depended on my network of family and friends to help me make the right choice.

What were your 3 most important factors while choosing a preschool? Why?

The preschool’s teaching style, activities offered and facilities provided are the factors that I thought were most important. The teaching style is crucial to my child’s overall development. The activities offered will help my child to develop skills and enhance his personality. The facilities provided create a positive learning environment to encourage development.

What is the one thing that you feel you did really well during your preschool search, and other mothers should learn from you?

I believe that activity based learning is a positive influence on a child’s development, while still staying fun and age-appropriate. I searched for a preschool which conducts many activities. I wanted my child to develop in a place that celebrates all festivals and exposes children to various cultures so that they can have a rich view of the world and be global citizens.

What changes do you see in your child after going to preschool?

After starting preschool, my child is much more aware of his world. He understands and discusses various cultures. He celebrates and enjoys different festivals. He is increasingly social and engaging.

What is your most important tip for parents to prepare their child and themselves for the first day of preschool?

Children are very happy to go to preschool. Parents should be mentally prepared for the hours of separation from their child. They should display happiness and enthusiasm towards their child’s first step into formal education. This positive and encouraging signal from parents will allow the children to remain happy and excited about going to preschool.

Request: If you appreciated the article, please like and share.

You can also join the movement by raising your voice and sharing your opinions/experiences on social media platforms and blogs such as Medium.

--

--