Day 1: Getting out of outline land

Chad Trim
FIRSTDRAFT|30
Published in
1 min readMar 22, 2018

In today’s VLOG, I address my activities and one major pitfall that planners like myself run into frequently… spending all of their days planned writing time in outline land.

Per my normal writing plan, I made an outline of the big beats (or moments) my film has. These are the story driving moments that make my characters or my story work. Outlines, or 3x5 index cards are very important when getting a story put together but as I talk about tonight, they are still only outlines. They won’t write my film.

As promised, and if you are interested, here are a few great places to start with writing for the big (or small) screen.

Screenwriting 101 from Stephanie Palmer, a former MGM exec.

Screenwriting.info, basically a wikipedia-like site for screenwriting.

Finally, my favorite resource and basically the industry standard of how to write a screenplay, The Screenwriters Bible.

Join me tomorrow for a reading of an early scene in my first act.

--

--

Chad Trim
FIRSTDRAFT|30

Storyteller, techie, outdoor lover, and recovering procrastinator.